Trucks no image

Published on August 21st, 2008 | by Michael J Smith


Johnson Finishes 34th In Truck Series Debut

Kyle Busch executed a perfect restart during a green-white-checker finish, then easily beat Todd Bodine to win the O’Reilly 200 from Bristol Motor Speedway.

Jimmie Johnson made his Craftsman Truck Series debut driving the No. 81 Randy Moss Motorsports entry. He inhereted the lead early, the product of staying out when the leaders pitted. He managed to lead for 29 laps before Busch and his fresher tires prevailed.

On lap 102, Johnson spun, and Jeff Green had nowhere to go and crashed into Johnson, who ended up finishing 34th.

Top 5: Busch, Bodine, Scott Speed, Johnny Benson, and Rick Crawford.

TJ Bell, Mike Skinner, Dennis Setzer, David Stremme, and Ted Musgrave rounded out the top 10.

Notables: Jack Sprague (12th), Erik Darnell (15th), Matt Crafton (21st), Terry Cook (23rd), Ron Hornaday (24th), Patrick Carpentier (25th), Stacy Compton (31st), Ken Schrader (33rd), and Jimmie Johnson (34th).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑