Cup no image

Published on August 27th, 2008 | by Michael J Smith


New Format For The Budweiser Shootout

NASCAR’s pre-season showcase from Daytona International Speedway that featured the previous Sprint Cup season’s pole winners and past winners of the shootout has seen its eligibility requirements change starting next season.

The Budweiser Shootout will now feature the top six teams from each manufacturer in the final owner points. The move seems to be designed to put the emphasis on the manufacturers.

The race distance will also be increased from 70 laps to 75 laps. There will be two segments of 25 and 50 laps, with yellow flag laps included. There will also be a 10 minute break between the segments.

From a logical perspective, the reason for the change does make sense, though. After all, Budweiser used to sponsor the pole award, so there was a link. But, with Coors now sponsoring the pole, the two are no longer connected, and probably shouldn’t be linked.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑