- Lead-Lap.com - http://lead-lap.com -

Stewart Wins Amp Energy 500

Tony Stewart managed to stay out of trouble to, despite being the second to cross the finish line, win the Amp Energy 500 from Talladega Superspeedway.

On the restart for a green-white-checker finish, Stewart had the Dale Earnhard Inc. teammates Regan Smith, Paul Menard, and Aric Almirola running in second through fourth respectively. At the drop of the green flag, Almirola was quickly taken out of the equation by Jeff Burton. That left Stewart to hold off Smith and Menard.

Smith waited until the final turn to make his move. He started to go outside, but Stewart blocked. He went inside, and Stewart moved down to block. Smith drove down on the apron, and below the yellow line, and made it stick to take the checkered flag. But, NASCAR assessed a penalty on Smith because he went out of bounds to advance his position, declaring Stewart the winner.

The victory was Stewart’s first Sprint Cup victory of the season, and at the famed track.

Top 5: Stewart, Menard, David Ragan, Burton, and Clint Bowyer.

Bobby Labonte, Scott Riggs, Robby Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, and Elliott Sadler rounded out the top 10.

Notables: Kyle Busch (15th), Regan Smith (18th after penalty was assessed), Greg Biffle (22nd), Matt Kenseth (26th), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (28th), Carl Edwards (29th), Jeff Gordon (38th), and Denny Hamlin (39th).