Cup no image

Published on February 8th, 2009 | by Michael J Smith


Harvick Wins Bud Shootout

Kevin Harvick lost the draft twice, managed to dodge several wrecks, and used a last-lap pass on Jamie McMurray to win the 2009 Bud Shootout, his first Shootout victory in his career.

Following a late wreck, the field was set for a green-white-checker finish. McMurray led the field to the green on the restart, and had a fast car that seemed poised for a win. Harvick restarted fourth.

With about one to go, Harvick diced through the middle and then used a huge push from Denny Hamlin to sail past McMurray who dove down to block Jimmie Johnson, but could not get back high to block Harvick.

Once Harvick completed the pass, Johnson got together with Casey Mears, and triggered a big wreck, ending the Shoutout, making Harvick the winner.

Top 5: Harvick, McMurray, Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon, and AJ Allmendinger.

Kasey Kahne, Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Kurt Busch, and Kyle Busch rounded out the top 10.

Notables: Brian Vickers (11th), Denny Hamlin (13th),  Johnson (14th), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (18th), Bobby Labonte (19th), and Joey Logano (28th).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑