Trucks no image

Published on May 16th, 2009 | by Michael J Smith


Hornaday Wins North Carolina Education Lottery 200

Ron Hornaday came from a lap down and passed Matt Crafton in the closing laps, then drove away from the second-place truck of Kyle Busch to win the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Lowe’s Motor Speedway.

Busch finished second after an eventful night in which he wrecked Colin Braun, the leader of the race at the time.

Top 5: Hornaday, Busch, Crafton, Ryan Newman, and Terry Cook.

David Gilliland, David Starr, Tayler Malsam, Stacy Compton and Dennis Setzer rounded out the top 10.

Notables: Rick Crawford (11th), Johhny Sauter (13th), Johnny Benson (23rd), Todd Bodine (25th), Colin Braun (26th), Mike Bliss (27th), and Mike Skinner (29th).

Busch was penalized for rough driving after he clipped then-leader Colin Braun, sending Braun into Timothy Peters and the wall. He rallied to finish second.

After the incident Busch said:

That was my fault. An error on my part.

Mike Skinner was bumped by Johnny Sauter, sending him spinning across the track into the outside wall and TJ Bell. Skinner’s truck was lifted by Bell’s hood and rolled onto its side. Skinner was okay. He finished 29th.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑