Trucks no image

Published on November 14th, 2009 | by Michael J Smith


Harvick Wins Race; Hornaday Wins Championship

khiphoenixKevin Harvick survived a green white checker finish and held off Kyle Busch to win the Lucas Oil 150 at Phoenix International Raceway, while Ron Hornaday clinched his fourth Camping World Truck Series championship with a fourth place finish in Harvick’s No. 33 truck.

Matt Crafton, the only man with a chance to catch Hornaday for the championship, finished eighth, locking himself into second place in the standings.

Harvick said:

To see Hornaday lock up the championship and to win the race, I don’t know if you can script it much better.

Top 5: Harvick, Busch, Aric Almirola, Hornaday, and Johnny Sauter.

Mike Skinner, Mike Bliss, Crafton, David Starr, and Stacey Compton finished sixth through 10th, respectively.

Notables: Todd Bodine (12th), TJ Bell (13th), Rick Crawford (14th), Tayler Malsam (17th), Ricky Carmichael (18th), and Terry Cook (36th).

Harvick and Hornaday both overcame early troubles during the race. On lap 6, Harvick hit some oil and spun, making contact with Aric Almirola. Neither drive lost a lap, though.

Hornaday was penalized for improper fueling during the caution on lap 35. The gas can was inserted before the catch can was in place. He got tires, since he was restarting in the back. He worked his way through the field.

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑