Xfinity no image

Published on November 23rd, 2009 | by Michael J Smith


Busch Wins Ford 300, N’wide Championship

kbchampion1Kyle Busch clinched the Nationwide Series championship when the green flag of the Ford 300 flew. Then, in the closing laps, he held off a hard-charging Carl Edwards to win the race, and earn his ninth victory of the season. He became the first driver since 1983 to win the final race of the season and the championship.

Busch said:

I come to races to win races and win trophies. We were able to do that as well as earn points this year and it added up to a championship which I feel just great about.

Top 5: Busch, Carl Edwards, Jeff Burton, Joey Logano, and Denny Hamlin.

David Reutimann, Ryan Newman, Steve Wallace, Scott Speed, and Matt Kenseth rounded out the top 10.

Notables: Brendan Gaughan (11th), Brad Keselowski (12th), Jason Keller (13th), Mike Bliss (16th), Kenny Wallace (17th), Jason Leffler (18th), Justin Allgaier (20th), Kelly Bires (29th), and Joe Nemechek (36th).

The fued between Denny Hamlin and Brad Keselowski continued on Saturday. Hamlin made good on a threat he made the week before, after he and Keselowski got into it. On lap 35, he got into the back of Keselowski’s No. 88 JR Motorsports Chevy and spun him out.

Hamlin said:

I feel great right now. It was well worth it. … To me, it’s a victory for all the guys he’s taken out over the last 10 weeks. A lot of guys took swipes at him and missed. So to be honest with you, I’m surprised he was able to drive it in.

Keselowski said:

[Hamlin has] got a lot of problems on and off the race track.  I have a feeling when he gets up in the morning, he’s not going to feel any better about himself.

He added:

I didn’t really expect anything. I really wasn’t thinking about it. If it was going to happen, it was going to happen. So I wasn’t really fretting over it. But it is what it is. I’m going to wake up tomorrow morning and probably not think about it.

Hamlin was penalized one lap for spinning Keselowski, and NASCAR indicated that no further penalties would come.

See the incident here:

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑