Cup no image

Published on February 22nd, 2010 | by Michael J Smith


“Lucky” Johnson Wins Auto Club 500

Jimmie Johnson gained the lead on pit road, and then held off Kevin Harvick during a 20-lap green-flag run to the finish to win the Auto Club 500 at Auto Club Speedway. Johnson was on pit road when a caution came out for Brad Keselowski’s spin, but he beat the pace car off pit road, earning him the lead when the other cars pitted. Harvick looked to be mounting a charge to the lead, but he brushed the wall with four laps to go, which stalled his progress.

Harvick said of Johnson:

They’re really good, but they’re also really, really lucky. They have a golden horseshoe stuck up their a** — there’s no getting around that.

Top 5: Johnson, Harvick, Jeff Burton, Mark Martin, and Joey Logano.

Kurt Busch, Matt Kenseth, Clint Bowyer, Tony Stewart, and Greg Biffle finished sixth through 10th.

Notables: Scott Speed (11th), Brian Vickers (12th), Carl Edwards (13th), Kyle Busch (14th), David Reutimann (15th), Jeff Gordon (20th), Denny Hamlin (29th), Dale Earnhardt Jr (32nd), Kasey Kahne (34th), Ryan Newman (36th), and Juan Montoya (37th).

Dale Earnhardt Jr was running in the mid-teens to mid-20s all day. The team improved the car but then he broke an axel that put him seven laps down. He finished the race 12 laps down in 32nd.

On lap 92, Kasey Kahne got under Juan Montoya, got loose, and spun through the infield grass. He damaged his splitter and his right front fender. He also damaged some duct work on the car. He finished 34th.

Juan Montoya and Ryan Newman both blew engines and finished 36th and 37th, respectively.

Tags: , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑