Trucks no image

Published on July 12th, 2010 | by Michael J Smith


Dillon Earns First Career Truck Series Win At Iowa

Austin Dillon earned his first career Camping World Truck Series win by dominating the Lucas Oil 200 at Iowa Speedway. Dillon led 187 of 205 laps, and easily held off Johnny Sauter during the green-white-checkered finish.

The win is the first time a black No. 3 has won in any series since Dale Earnhardt Sr’s death in 2001.

Top 5: Dillon, Sauter, Matt Crafton, Ken Schrader, and James Buescher. 

Stacey Compton, Mike Skinner, Greg Pursley, Ricky Carmichael, and David Starr rounded out the top 10.

Notables: Brian Ickler (13th), Todd Bodine (17th), Carl Long (20th), Ron Hornaday (24th), Timothy Peters (27th), Aric Almirola (28th), Steve Wallace (30th), and Chad McCumbee (31st).

The top four drivers in the points standings each experience trouble in the race. Ron Hornaday was involved in an accident about half way through the race and suffered heavy damage. He finished 24th. In that same accident, Todd Bodine suffered damage that would end his hopes for a victory. He finished 17th. Aric Almirola appeared to blow a tire. He hit the wall and suffered heavy damage to his right side. He finished 28th. And Timothy Peters lost his engine around lap 104. He finished 27th.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

One Response to Dillon Earns First Career Truck Series Win At Iowa

  1. Pingback: Dillon Will Never Be More Than ‘Driver Of The 3′ | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑