- Lead-Lap.com - http://lead-lap.com -

Edwards Turns Keselowski To Win Dodge Dealers 250

[1]Carl Edwards moved Brad Keselowski to win the Missouri-Illinois Dodge Dealers 250 at Gateway International Raceway,  leading some to believe that the fued between the two drivers [2] is back on.

On a restart on lap 199 of 200, Keselowski bumped Edwards in an attempt to get the lead in Turn 1. The two raced door-to-door for the lead for most of the final lap.

As the two raced to the finish line, it appeared Keselowski had the edge and would take the win when Edwards turned Keselowski. Keselowski hit the outside wall hard, then slid into the inside wall before Shelby Howard hit him again before he reached the finish line.

Edwards took the checkered flag two car lengths in front of runner-up Reed Sorenson.

Afterwards, Edwards said:

I just couldn’t let him take the win from me. My guys work way too hard for that. We had a great restart. My guys built me a great car. We came to the checkered flag, and I hate to see stuff tore up, but we came here to win and he took it from us there in Turn 1. Just an awesome race. … I’m sure some of them don’t like that win—Brad Keselowski fans and stuff—but, man, I just couldn’t let him take it from me. I had to do what I had to do.

Keselowski said:

He turned left into me and wrecked me on purpose. I gave him the lane, and he still wrecked me. … I figured out a way to beat him. He wasn’t happy with me, so he wrecked me. Wrecking down the straightaway is never cool, whether it’s at 200 mph or 120. I’m sorry that’s the way it had to end.

After the race, Edwards met with NASCAR officials to discuss the incident. It appears, however, that no penalties are coming as Nationwide Series Director Joe Balash chalked the incident up to hard racing. He said:

I think at the last lap there was a lot of hard racing going on. There was some movement on the racetrack. It was a tough finish for a really great race.

Top 5: Edwards, Sorenson, Trevor Bayne, Paul Menard, and Steve Wallace.

Brian Scott, Colin Braun, Josh Wise, Ricky Stenhouse Jr, and Tony Raines finished sixth through 10th, respectively.

Notables: Michael Annett (11th), Steve Arpin (13), Brad Keselowski (14th), Kevin Harvick (16th), Brendan Gaughan (17th), Kenny Wallace (20th), Justin Allgaier (25th), Jason Keller (34th), and Johnny Sauter (41st).

The incident: