- Lead-Lap.com - http://lead-lap.com -

Ambrose Makes It Three In A Row At The Glen

[1]Marcos Ambrose won his third consecutive Nationwide Series race at Watkins Glen International, dominating  the Zippo 200, leading 60 of 82 laps, including the final 30 laps.

Top 5: Ambrose, Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, and Kyle Busch. 

Ron Fellows, Nelson Piquet Jr, Jacques Villeneuve, Steven Wallace, and Michael McDowell rounded out the top 10.

Notables: JR Fitzpatrick (11th), Tayler Malsam (12th), Tony Ave (15th), Paul Menard (17th), Michael Annett (19th), Kenny Wallace (21st), Boris Said (22nd), Ryan Newman (25th), Trevor Bayne (29th), Brendan Gaughan (30th), Carl Edwards (33rd), Justin Allgaier (34th), and Jason Leffler (35th).

A 10-car pileup on lap 24 caused a red flag that stopped the race for 25 minutes. It appeared that Jason Leffler made contact with Colin Braun as he was coming back onto the track after getting wide coming off of Turn 1. The contact sent Leffler hard into the outside wall and sent Braun into the inside wall.

Leffler bounced off the wall and slid back into Trevor Bayne, sending Bayne spinning. Justin Allgaier then ran right into the back of Leffler. Allgaier’s badly damaged Dodge slid sideways, blocking part of the track. As the cars close to the incident attempted to stop, other cars ran into them, lifting them onto the hoods of the cars that hit them.

When the dust settled, 10 cars were involved including Said, Brendan Gaughan, Tony Raines, Victor Gonzales Jr, Bill Johnson, among others.