Cup no image

Published on August 9th, 2010 | by Michael J Smith


Montoya Snaps 113-Race Winless Streak At Glen

With his second career Sprint Cup victory, Juan Montoya did something he hasn’t been able to do as of late: win a race in which he had the dominant car. After suffering two disappointing losses, at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Montoya dominated the Heluva Good Sour Cream Dips at the Glen, leading 74 of 90 laps, pulling away from Marcos Ambrose and Kurt Buschover the last 16 laps.

Montoya’s win also adds to the banner year Chip Ganassi is having, with his IZOD Indy Car team wining the Indy 500, and Montoya’s teammate winning the Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400.

Top 5: Montoya, Kurt Busch, Marcos Ambrose, AJ Allmendinger, and Carl Edwards.

Jamie McMurray, Tony Stewart, Kyle Busch, Jeff Burton, and Jeff Gordon rounded out the top 10.

Notables: Kevin Harvick (11th), Ryan Newman (12th), Matt Kenseth (13th), Sam Hornish Jr (14th), Martin Truex Jr (15th), Kasey Kahne (17th), Mark Martin (19th), Patrick Carpentier (21st), Max Papis (22nd),  David Reutimann (23rd), Greg Biffle (24th), Dale Earnhardt Jr (26th), Jimmie Johnson (28th), Clint Bowyer (32nd), Denny Hamlin (37th), and Boris Said (38th).   

On lap 66, Tony Stewart and Boris Said were battling for position inside the top 10. Stewart and Said got together slightly coming out of turn 1 when Said forced Stewart to the outside. Heading into turn 2, Stewart bumped Said, sending him spining into the outside wall. There was heavy damage to Said’s car.  He finished 38th, while Stewart finished 8th.

On the first lap back to racing after Said’s wreck, Kyle Busch dove to the inside of Jeff Burton and Jimmie Johnson to make it three-wide. Burton held his line, but in doing so made contact with Johnson, who spun into the wall. Just as his car came to a rest, Denny Hamlin, who couldn’t see anything because of the smoke from Johnson’s car, hit him hard. Johnson made repairs and continued on while Hamlin took his car behind the wall. They finished 28th and 37th, respectively.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑