Cup no image

Published on January 11th, 2011 | by Michael J Smith


Drivers Must Specify Championship Series In 2011 is reporting that NASCAR is requiring drivers to specify the national series — Sprint Cup, Nationwide, or Camping World Truck —  in which they would like to compete for the championship.

While nothing official has been announced, several drives noted seeing the requirement listed on the 2011 application for competition.

Kenny Wallace said that the form reads:

A driver will only be permitted to earn driver championship points in one (1) of the following three series: NASCAR Sprint Cup, NASCAR Nationwide or NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Please select the series in which you would like to accumulate driver championship points. Choose one.

At this time, it is unclear how this will affect scoring, but an announcement is expected at the competition update scheduled for Jan. 21st.

As a result of the change, Brad Keselowski, who took home the 2010 Nationwide Series championship, will not be eligible to win the championship in 2011.

Tags: , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

3 Responses to Drivers Must Specify Championship Series In 2011

  1. Pingback: Only Drivers Competing For N’Wide Title Will Receive N’Wide Points | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

  2. Pingback: NASCAR Rule Means No Cup Rookie Of The Year In 2011 | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

  3. Pingback: Bring Excitement Back To The Nationwide Series | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑