- Lead-Lap.com - http://lead-lap.com -

Drivers Must Specify Championship Series In 2011

Posted By Michael J Smith On January 11, 2011 @ 6:34 pm In Cup,Trucks,Xfinity | 3 Comments

[1]NASCAR.com [2] is reporting that NASCAR is requiring drivers to specify the national series — Sprint Cup, Nationwide, or Camping World Truck —  in which they would like to compete for the championship.

While nothing official has been announced, several drives noted seeing the requirement listed on the 2011 application for competition.

Kenny Wallace said that the form reads:

A driver will only be permitted to earn driver championship points in one (1) of the following three series: NASCAR Sprint Cup, NASCAR Nationwide or NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Please select the series in which you would like to accumulate driver championship points. Choose one.

At this time, it is unclear how this will affect scoring, but an announcement is expected at the competition update scheduled for Jan. 21st.

As a result of the change, Brad Keselowski, who took home the 2010 Nationwide Series championship, will not be eligible to win the championship in 2011.

Article printed from Lead-Lap.com: http://lead-lap.com

URL to article: http://lead-lap.com/2011/01/11/drivers-must-elect-series-in-which-to-compete-for-championship/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://lead-lap.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/keselowskipenske1.jpg

[2] NASCAR.com: http://www.nascar.com/news/110110/rule-change-drivers-one-championship/index.html

Copyright © 2009 mikejsmith.net. All rights reserved.