Daily Archives: January 18, 2011

Blaney To Drive For TBR In At Least 16 Cup Races This Season

January 18th, 2011 | by Michael J Smith

Tommy Baldwin Racing announced that Dave Blaney will drive the team's No. 36 Sprint Cup Chevy for all 36 races this season. TBR will attempt to qualify for every event, but the team will focus on completing 16 races until proper funding can be found for the remaining races.

Hornish To Run At Least 10 Races In Nationwide Series

January 18th, 2011 | by Michael J Smith

Sam Hornish Jr will drive in at least 10 Nationwide Series races this season, according to FoxSports.com. Hornish will drive a Penske Racing entry in series starting with the DRIVE4COPD 300 at Daytona International Speedway. Chad Walters will serve as crew chief.

Elliott To Drive For Phoenix Racing In Cup Series In 2011

January 18th, 2011 | by Michael J Smith

Despite an earlier denial by Phoenix Racing owner James Finch, the team has announced that Bill Elliott will drive the team's No. 09 Sprint Cup entry for a limited number of races beginning with the 2011 Daytona 500. At this point, the plan is to have Elliott behind the wheel for 18 Cup races depending on sponsorship

Wallace To Make Cup Debut In Daytona 500

January 18th, 2011 | by Michael J Smith

Penske Racing's 2010 owner's points from the team's No. 77 Sprint Cup team will be used by Steve Wallace, who will attempt to make his Cup debut at Daytona. As a result of the move, Wallace will be guaranteed a starting spot in the 500, as the No. 77 finished the 2010 season 30th in owner's points

ESPN Expands Craven’s On-Air Duties

January 18th, 2011 | by Michael J Smith

Ricky Craven will serve as a color analyst for seven Nationwide Series races in 2011. Craven will continue to appear as an in-studio analyst for NASCAR Now, ESPN News, and SportsCenter. Craven served as color analyst for five N'Wide races last season

NASCAR Considering Changes To Points System

January 18th, 2011 | by Michael J Smith

NASCAR is considering scrapping the current points system in favor of a simpler method that awards points per finishing position. The proposed system would award 43 points to the race winner, and would award one point less for each ensuing position down to one point for the 43rd-place finisher

Back to Top ↑