Cup no image

Published on February 11th, 2011 | by Michael J Smith


NASCAR Rule Means No Cup Rookie Of The Year In 2011

Thanks to a new NASCAR mandate that drivers must specify the national series — Sprint Cup, Nationwide, or Camping World Truck –  in which they would like to compete for the championship, there will be no 2011 Rookie of the Year, according to

NASCAR will not allow a driver to compete for ROTY honors, if that driver has not declared that series as the one in which they will compete for the championship.  

Trevor Bayne, who will run at least 17 races for Wood Brothers Racing, is competing for the Nationwide Series championship for Roush Fenway Racing in 2011. He was also potentially the only rookie in the Sprint Cup Series in 2011.

The limit a driver could run without losing the ability to compete for ROTY honors was seven. NASCAR is currently looking at that provision, and may change it.

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑