- Lead-Lap.com - http://lead-lap.com -

NASCAR Rule Means No Cup Rookie Of The Year In 2011

[1]Thanks to a new NASCAR mandate [2] that drivers must specify the national series — Sprint Cup, Nationwide, or Camping World Truck –  in which they would like to compete for the championship, there will be no 2011 Rookie of the Year, according to SceneDaily.com [3].

NASCAR will not allow a driver to compete for ROTY honors, if that driver has not declared that series as the one in which they will compete for the championship.  

Trevor Bayne, who will run at least 17 races for Wood Brothers Racing [4], is competing for the Nationwide Series championship for Roush Fenway Racing in 2011. He was also potentially the only rookie in the Sprint Cup Series in 2011.

The limit a driver could run without losing the ability to compete for ROTY honors was seven. NASCAR is currently looking at that provision, and may change it.