Cup no image

Published on January 17th, 2012 | by Michael J Smith


Longtime Nationwide Series Owner Forms Cup Team

Long-time Nationwide Series team owner Jay Robinson has teamed up with Troy Blakeney to form Robinson-Blakeney Racing, which will field a Sprint Cup entry in 2012. Robinson owns Jay Robinson Racing, which fielded the No. 28 entry in the Nationwide Series last season with Derrike Cope and Dennis Setzer behind the wheel. The team also fielded the Nos. 48 and 49 in the series with a variety of drivers. The team also formed partnerships with several other N’Wide teams throughout the season, including R3 Motorsports.

Robinson said:

I am very excited about our new venture into the Cup series”, said team owner Jay Robinson” We have all of the cars and equipment in place. We will be running engines prepared by Race Engines Plus and are hoping to hire a driver very soon.

The team still plans to field the No. 28 N’wide car. Jeff Spraker and his Spraker Racing Enterprises group has been hired to head up that effort.

No word on sponsorship, driver, or crew chief.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

One Response to Longtime Nationwide Series Owner Forms Cup Team

  1. Pingback: Yeley To Drive For Robinson-Blakeney Racing In Cup In 2012 | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑