Cup no image

Published on January 17th, 2012 | by Michael J Smith


Ragan To Drive For Front Row Motorsports

Front Row Motorsports has signed David Ragan to drive the team’s No. 34 Sprint Cup Ford. David Gilliland will drive the team’s second Sprint Cup entry, the No. 38.

Ragan had to move on from Roush Fenway Racing after UPS decided to move its sponsorship from Ragan’s No. 6 to Carl Edwards and the No. 99.

Ragan was linked to several rides, including TRG Motorsports’ No. 71 and Richard Petty Motorsports’ No. 43, which was vacated by AJ Allmendinger who left to join Penske Racing in the No. 22 that became open after Kurt Busch and Penske agreed to part ways. Busch joined Phoenix Racing.

TRG suspended operations, while RPM signed Aric Almirola to drive the No. 43. RFR will field the No. 6 in select races. Ricky Stenhouse Jr is slated to drive that car in the Daytona 500.

Ragan earned his first career Sprint Cup victory, winning the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway. He was also in position to win the Daytona 500 when he made a mental mistake, changing lanes before crossing the start-finish line on a restart, which resulted in him being black flagged.

Jay Guy will serve as Ragan’s crew chief.┬áCompetition Director Derrick Finley will serve as interim crew chief for Gilliland until a permanent replacement can be found.

Both the Nos. 34 and 38 are locked into the first five races of the 2012 season because both cars finished in the top 35 in owner’s points.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

One Response to Ragan To Drive For Front Row Motorsports

  1. Pingback: Ragan To Drive For GCMI In Nationwide Season-Opener | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ five = 7

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Back to Top ↑