Cup no image

Published on February 16th, 2012 | by Michael J Smith


McDowell To Run No. 98 For Phil Parsons Racing in Cup

Michael McDowell will drive the No. 98 Ford for Phil Parsons Racing for the entire 2012 Sprint Cup Series season, the team announced. In the off-season, PPR merged with Whitney Motorsports, and partnered with Mike Curb, a long-time NASCAR and IZOD Indycar Series owner.

Parsons said:

Combining our efforts with Whitney Motorsports with the support of Mike Curb and having Michael (McDowell) behind the wheel of the No. 98 Ford means we’ll open the season at Daytona better prepared than ever before. We feel the timing couldn’t be better for us to build this program into a proper Sprint Cup Series effort.

The team will get engines from Roush Yates Racing. Veteran crew chief Gene Nead will lead the team. He has worked with McDowell before — at Michael Waltrip Racing and in the Nationwide Series at PPR.

McDowell said:

This is the opportunity I’ve been looking for to work with various Christian music outlets, Mike Curb and Curb Records, and our other partnerships that are taking shape. This opportunity will allow me to expand my brand and put me in a position to work with the types of companies I’ve been wanting to work with for a long time. On the racetrack, I’m excited about the chance to have my best NASCAR season ever.

Additionally, McDowell will run in the Nationwide Series with Joe Gibbs Racing.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

One Response to McDowell To Run No. 98 For Phil Parsons Racing in Cup

  1. Pingback: McDowell, Phil Parsons Racing Return To Cup In 2013 | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 2 = nine

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Back to Top ↑