- Lead-Lap.com - http://lead-lap.com -

Mayfield Says He Will Drop Lawsuit Against NASCAR

Posted By Michael J Smith On May 1, 2012 @ 3:07 pm In Cup | 3 Comments

[1]Jeremy Mayfield said that he will not pursue any additional appeals in his lawsuit against NASCAR over his failed May 2009 drug test.

Mayfield has until late June to file an appeal to the US Supreme Court, but he has indicated he will move on from the case.

Mayfield was disputing the accuracy of a drug test he failed in May of 2009 [2], which the sanctioning body said revealed that Mayfield took methamphetamines.

Mayfield claims the failed drug test was the result of a mixture of Adderall and over-the-counter Claritin D.

A US District Court judge dismissed Mayfield’s case [3] in May 2010, and Mayfield’s appeal was rejected earlier this year [4].

Mayfield also faces four counts of felony larceny stemming from a February indictment that states he was in possession of stolen property.

Mayfield also recently lost his home to foreclosure. He has 10 days to move out of the house, and may still be forced to pay $500,000.

The 400-acre property was sold at auction and Carolina Farm Credit, the bank that made the loan to Mayfield, was the only bidder. Another buyer has 10 days to make an offer. If no other offer is made, Mayfield must leave the premises on May 10.

Related Stories


Article printed from Lead-Lap.com: http://lead-lap.com

URL to article: http://lead-lap.com/2012/05/01/mayfield-says-he-will-drop-lawsuit-against-nascar/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://lead-lap.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/mayfield1.jpg

[2] failed in May of 2009: http://lead-lap.com/2009/05/09/mayfield-suspended-indefinitely-by-nascar/

[3] dismissed Mayfield’s case: http://lead-lap.com/2010/05/18/judge-dismisses-mayfield-lawsuit/

[4] rejected earlier this year: http://lead-lap.com/2012/03/28/u-s-court-of-appeals-panel-reject-mayfields-appeal/

[5] Mayfield Issues Statement About Suspension: http://lead-lap.com/2009/05/11/mayfield-issues-statement-about-suspension/

[6] NASCAR Drug Tester Disputes Mayfield’s Claim: http://lead-lap.com/2009/05/11/nascar-drug-tester-disputes-mayfields-claim/

[7] Mayfield May Not Be Telling The Truth: http://lead-lap.com/2009/05/18/mayfield-may-not-be-telling-the-truth/

[8] Mayfield Tested Positive For Meth, Sources Say: http://lead-lap.com/2009/06/09/mayfield-tested-positive-for-meth-sources-say/

[9] Independent Lab Confirms Mayfield Test Result: http://lead-lap.com/2009/06/30/independent-lab-confirms-mayfield-test-result/

[10] Mayfield Wins Injunction; NASCAR Can Appeal: http://lead-lap.com/2009/07/01/mayfield-wins-injunction-nascar-can-appeal/

[11] : http://lead-lap.com/2012/05/01/mayfield-says-he-will-drop-lawsuit-against-nascar/

Copyright © 2009 mikejsmith.net. All rights reserved.