- Lead-Lap.com - http://lead-lap.com -

NASCAR Penalizes Six N’Wide Teams For Richmond Infractions

NASCAR announced that it has penalized six Nationwide Series teams for violations found during opening day inspection for the Virginia 529 College Savings 250 at Richmond International Raceway.

All three Richard Childress Racing teams and all three Turner Motorsports teams had their bumper covers confiscated due to illegal modifications. According to NASCAR, the teams were found to be in violation of  Sections 12-1 (actions detrimental to stock car racing); 12-4J (any determination by NASCAR officials that the race equipment used in the event does not conform to NASCAR rules detailed in Section 20-A of the rule book).

They were also found to be in violation of Sections 20A-2.1E (streamlining of the contours of the car, beyond what is approved by the series director will not be permitted. Installation of air directional devices, underpans, baffles, shields or the like beneath the car or the car’s hood and fender area, front firewall, floor, rear firewall area, rear deck and quarter panel will not be permitted. If, in the judgment of NASCAR officials, any part or component of the car not previously approved by NASCAR has been installed or modified to enhance aerodynamic performance, will not be permitted. All cars must remain standard in appearance); and 20A-3.10A (front upper bumper cover must be from the respective OEM manufacturer and must be approved by NASCAR. The front lower bumper cover and rear bumper cover must be from an approved manufacturer and must be approved by NASCAR. Once approved, the front lower bumper covers may be used on all approved models. NASCAR officials may use bumper covers provided by the respective manufacturer as a guide in determining whether a competitor’s bumper cover conforms to the specifications of the NASCAR rule book. Unless otherwise authorized by the series director, cutting and reshaping of bumper covers will not be permitted.)

RCR crew chiefs Luke Lambert (No. 2 team and driver Elliott Sadler), Danny Stockman (No. 3 team and driver Austin Dillon), and Ernie Cope (No. 33 team and driver Kevin Harvick) have each been fined $10,000 and placed on NASCAR probation until the end of the calendar year.

Turner crew chiefs Trent Owens (No. 30 team and driver James Buescher), Jimmy Elledge (No. 31 team and driver Justin Allgaier), and Mike Shiplett (No. 38 team and driver Kasey Kahne) have also each been fined $10,000 and placed on NASCAR probation until Dec. 31.

Additionally, the teams’ respective car chiefs – Phil Gould (No. 2), Robert Strmiska (No. 3), and Paul Balmer (No. 33) for RCR; Shannon Rursch (No. 30), Ronald Hornaday III (No. 31), and Christopher Meyers (No. 38) for Turner – have likewise been placed on NASCAR probation until Dec. 31.

The violations were found on opening day.

None of the teams received points penalties.