Cup no image

Published on October 30th, 2012 | by Michael J Smith


Burton, Ambrose Get New Crew Chiefs

Jeff BurtonCrew chief Drew Blickensderfer resigned as crew chief of Richard Childress Racing’s No. 31 Chevy and driver Jeff Burton to return to the Ford camp. Blickensderfer become crew chief ¬†of Richard Petty Motorsports’s No. 9 team and driver Marcos Ambrose.

Blickensderfer replaces Mike Ford, who served as crew chief of the No. 9 team without a contract. Ford is said to have been offered a crew chief job at BK Racing.

Luke Lambert, crew chief of RCR’s No. 2 Nationwide Series team and driver Elliott Sadler, will take over as crew chief of the No. 31 Sprint Cup team in 2013.

In the interim, Shane Wilson will serve as crew chief for Burton and the No. 31.

Team owner Richard Childress said:

I want to thank Drew for all of his effort with the No. 31 Caterpillar team this season. He’s a great crew chief and I can’t say enough about his dedication to RCR. Making the move now, before the season is over, gives Drew some additional time to pursue other opportunities.



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

One Response to Burton, Ambrose Get New Crew Chiefs

  1. Pingback: Richard Petty Motorsports Renews With Ford | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑