- Lead-Lap.com - http://lead-lap.com -

Chevy Unveils SS For Sprint Cup Competition In 2013

Posted By Michael J Smith On November 29, 2012 @ 6:15 pm In Cup | No Comments

2013 NASCAR Chevrolet SS race car [2]Chevrolet unveiled its new SS, which will run in the Sprint Cup Series in 2013. The SS will make its debut during SpeedWeeks next year at Daytona International Speedway.

The Sprint Cup  SS will closely resemble the SS production model that is set to debut early next year. The production version will hit showrooms in late 2013, with a model year of 2014. This will mark the first time in 17 years that Chevy will offer a rear-wheel-drive sedan in the U.S.

General Motors North America President Mark Reuss said:

As a passionate race fan, the debut of the SS NASCAR race car is a genuinely exciting moment for me. With the SS, Chevrolet is delivering a true rear-wheel-drive NASCAR race car that is very closely linked to the performance sedan that will be available for sale, ensuring that our most loyal enthusiasts will have the opportunity to experience the same thrill every day on the open road that our race car drivers enjoy on the track on race day. The Chevrolet SS also demonstrates how we are able to leverage our global product portfolio to deliver a unique performance experience. The specialized development and testing work done for the race car will certainly benefit the entire Chevrolet product lineup.

Jim Campbell, vice president of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports, added:

We are looking forward to another exciting year of NASCAR competition and expect that the new SS race car, with some of the most skilled drivers on the circuit behind the wheel, will distinguish itself on the track.

In an effort to get more brand identity on the Sprint Cup cars, NASCAR eased the rules on where  manufacturers were allowed to put glass and solid body parts. The sanctioning body also eased rules on the front and the rear of the cars, allowing manufactures to make the nose and rear of the car look more like the production model. And, the sides now allow character lines that come from the street models.

Earlier this year, Chevy unveiled its 2013 Nationwide Series Camaro [3].

 

2013 NASCAR Chevrolet SS race car [4]

 

2013 NASCAR Chevrolet SS race car [5]

 

Related Stories

 


Article printed from Lead-Lap.com: http://lead-lap.com

URL to article: http://lead-lap.com/2012/11/29/chevy-unveils-ss-for-sprint-cup-competition-in-2013/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[2] Image: http://lead-lap.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/2013ssa.jpg

[3] 2013 Nationwide Series Camaro: http://lead-lap.com/2012/07/26/chevy-unveils-nationwide-series-camaro/

[4] Image: http://lead-lap.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/2013ss2.jpg

[5] Image: http://lead-lap.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/2013ss3.jpg

[6] 2013 Sprint Cup Toyota Camry Unveiled: http://lead-lap.com/2012/05/22/2013-sprint-cup-toyota-camry-unveiled/

[7] Chevy To Use SS In Cup Series In 2013: http://lead-lap.com/2012/05/17/chevy-to-use-ss-in-cup-series-in-2013/

[8] Chevy Working On New Model For 2013 Cup Competition: http://lead-lap.com/2012/03/14/chevy-working-on-new-model-for-2013-cup-competition/

[9] Dodge Unveils 2013 Sprint Cup Charger: http://lead-lap.com/2012/03/12/dodge-unveils-2013-sprint-cup-charger/

[10] Ford Unveils 2013 Sprint Cup Fusion: http://lead-lap.com/2012/01/24/ford-unveils-2013-sprint-cup-fusion/

[11] : http://lead-lap.com/2012/11/29/chevy-unveils-ss-for-sprint-cup-competition-in-2013/

Copyright © 2009 mikejsmith.net. All rights reserved.