Cup no image

Published on February 18th, 2013 | by Michael J Smith


Patrick Becomes First Female To Win Daytona 500 Pole

Danica Patrick, driver of the #10 Chevrolet, with her Pole Award and Jeff Gordon, driver of the #24 Drive To End Hunger Chevrolet, with his Front Row Award after qualifying for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway on February 17, 2013 in Daytona Beach, Florida.Danica Patrick won the pole of the 2013 Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway, runningĀ a lap of 196.434 mph (45.817 seconds). Patrick became the first female in NASCAR history to win a pole in NASCAR’s Sprint Cup Series.

The previous qualifying record of a female Sprint Cup Series driver was held by Janet Guthrie, who twice started ninth in 1977. The only other woman to win a pole in one of NASCAR’s national touring series was Shawna Robinson, who won the pole of a Nationwide Series race at Atlanta Motor Speedway in 1994.

Jeff Gordon posted the second-fastest time of the day, running a lap of 196.292 mph (45.850 seconds). He and Patrick will start on the front row for the Daytona 500. The rest of the field will be set in the Duels.


Tags: , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑