Cup no image

Published on July 12th, 2013 | by Michael J Smith


Newman Will Not Return To SHR In 2014

newman22013a.jpgFollowing the announcement that Budweiser is following Kevin Harvick to Stewart Haas Racing, SHR co-owner Tony Stewart was asked if the team would expand to four teams. He confirmed that the team would not expand to four teams in 2014.

The team currently has three Sprint Cup entries: the No. 14 team with Stewart, the No. 39 team with Ryan Newman, and the No. 10 team with Danica Patrick.

At season’s end, Ryan Newman will leave the team, Stewart confirmed.

He said:

Unfortunately, this will be the last year that we have Ryan [Newman] with us. That’s probably what has made this a bittersweet day. I’m bringing in another one of my friends to the organization, but also knowing that I’m losing a friend at the end of the year to the organization. The number one thing when Ryan and I spoke is that our friendship will not change. This was a business decision that was Gene’s (Haas) as well as mine and it was a hard decision. … I truly wish we were able to facilitate four teams at this time. We are just not able to do that. Down the road I’m sure if that becomes a possibility that he will most definitely will be on the list to fill the fourth seat again.


Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

5 Responses to Newman Will Not Return To SHR In 2014

  1. Pingback: Montoya Will Not Return To EGR In 2014 | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

  2. Pingback: Crew Chief Childers Leaving MWR For SHR, Harvick | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

  3. Pingback: It’s Official: Busch To SHR In 2014 | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

  4. Pingback: Larson To Drive EGR’s No. 42 In 2014 | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

  5. Pingback: Burton Will Not Return To RCR; Heading To Swan? | Lead Lap's NASCAR News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑