- Lead-Lap.com - http://lead-lap.com -

Almirola, Ambrose Set To Return To RPM In 2014

Richard Petty during practice for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series IRWIN Tools Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on August 24, 2012 in Bristol, Tennessee. [1]While the paperwork still needs to clear, it appears that Aric Almirola and Marcos Ambrose are both set to return to Richard Petty Motorsports in 2014, according to PopularSpeed.com [2].

Almirola said:

We’re real close on finishing everything. The continuity of keeping everything the same and working with this team and [crew chief] Todd Parrott will be a huge advantage. All the guys on this team do a good job and they understand these cars and what it takes to make them go faster. We’re looking forward to building on that next year.

Ambrose added:

We need to maintain this progression. I feel like we only have a few more chances this year to learn in advance of next season but I’m really excited about the future. We’ve had time to re-stabilize and get some of the mojo back and I look forward to better things next year.

Almirola joined RPM before the start of the 2012 Cup season. He has two Top 5s, nine Top 10s, and one pole. Ambrose joined RPM in 2011. He has two wins wins (both at Watkins Glen International in 2011 and 2012), eight Top 5s, 25 Top 10s, and three poles.

This move takes two more seats off the silly season market. Kevin Harvick [3] and Kurt Busch [4] are on their way to Stewart Haas Racing in 2014. Kyle Larson is taking over driving duties of Earnhardt Ganassi Racing’s No. 42 [5]. Juan Montoya might be headed to Furniture Row Racing [6]. Jeff Burton is out at Richard Childress Racing, and Ryan Newman is rumored to be headed to Burton’s vacant seat. Burton may be headed to Swan Racing or Tommy Baldwin Racing [7]. Austin Dillon is also moving up to Cup with RCR [8]. And, AJ Allmendinger is moving to JTG Daugherty Racing [9], replacing Bobby Labonte. Got all that?

Related Stories