Cup Ryan Newman sits in his No. 31 Caterpillar Chevy during practice for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Oral-B USA 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway on August 29, 2014 in Hampton, Georgia.

Published on September 2nd, 2014 | by Michael J Smith


Newman Controls His Chase Destiny

By winning the Oral-B USA 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway, Kasey Kahne clinched a berth in the Chase for the Sprint Cup. Matt Kenseth also secured a berth in the Chase by finishing second. Though he is winless, he accumulated enough points to guarantee a spot in the Chase.

That leaves two spots in the Chase to be decided heading into this weekend’s Federated Auto Parts 400 at Richmond International Raceway.

Ryan Newman is the only one who controls his own Chase destiny. If there is a repeat winner or Kenseth wins, Newman just has to finish 41st or better in the race to secure his berth in the Chase. He can also make the Chase if he finishes 42nd and leads a lap, or 43rd but leads the most laps with a repeat winner or Kenseth win.

If there is a new winner, but it isn’t Kenseth, Newman must finish 18th or better; 19th and at least one lap led; or 20th and the most laps led.

Greg Biffle only controls his destiny if there is a repeat winner, or Kenseth or Newman win. In the event that happens, Biffle must finish 22nd or better; 23rd and at least one lap led; or 24th and the most laps led.

If there is a new winner that isn’t Kenseth or Newman, Biffle must gain 19 more points than Newman in the race and stay ahead of Clint Bowyer and Kyle Larson.

Bowyer and Larson can also clinch Chase berths without a victory.

The only way for the drivers between 14th and 33rd in the drivers standings to secure a Chase berth is to win at Richmond. The most notable names on that list are Tony Stewart, Danica Patrick Jamie McMurray and Brian Vickers.

Information from NASCAR Media Group was used in this story.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑