Cup Sam Hornish Jr., driver of the No. 12 Alliance Truck Parts Ford, stands in the garage area during practice for the NASCAR Nationwide Series Ford EcoBoost 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 15, 2013 in Homestead, Florida.

Published on October 7th, 2014 | by Michael J Smith


Hornish To Replace Ambrose

With Marcos Ambrose returning to Australia at the end of the season to drive V8 Supercars for Roger Penske, the No. 9 Richard Petty Motorsports Ford has become available.

It appears that former IndyCar star and current Joe Gibbs Racing Nationwide Series driver Sam Hornish Jr will replace Ambrose in 2015, according to reports.

This would be Hornish’s second attempt at a Cup racing career. In three seasons driving for Team Penske, Hornish managed only eight top 10s in 108 starts.

He returned to N’wide where he found some success, finishing 4th in points in 2012 and second in points in 2013.

Update: Richard Petty Motorsports announced that three-time IndyCar Series Champion Sam Hornish Jr has agreed to drive the No. 9 RPM Ford full-time in 2015.

Hornish has been competing in the Nationwide Series for Joe Gibbs Racing most recently, earning one win and four top 5s in eight starts.

Hornish said:

Owners Richard Petty, Andrew Murstein and Doug Bergeron have built this organization into a championship-contending team with world-class sponsors and partners. Many people have noticed to the progress being made here and I’m ready to build off this momentum. My goal is to put the #9 team in victory lane in 2015 and be a competitor in “The Chase.”

RPM co-owner Richard Petty said:

Sam is a really good fit for RPM and will be a great addition to the team.┬áHe’s a family man who fits well with our core values and he will be a great ambassador for our partners. Sam’s also proven that he can win races and compete for a championship. He came into the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series with a steep learning curve from open wheel racing, but has shown in the Nationwide Series that he is a winner. We feel that he can get the #9 team to Victory Lane and compete in “The Chase” for us.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About the Author

Michael J. Smith is a NASCAR enthusiast and blogger. In addition to founding this website, Michael is a journalist with over a decade of experience writing for prestigious media organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to Top ↑